Is this normal practise?

11 posts, 1 page, 4,955 views

Opulent

#1 • • Opulent
Hi,
im trying to buy some equipment from musicstorekoeln.de However, as its my first time buying with them, they're requesting I send a copy of my passport and credit card as proof of id. Is this normal, and has anyone else had this same thing? Im not buying on finance, its just a straight forward c/card purchase. The site looks legite, but im a little worried about sending personal details to a company.
If you've had any experiences with them, good or bad, let me know please. Cheers (=
akir0

#2 • • Edited akir0 idleRPG champion 2009
I'd say that you should not send that information to them. Haven't bough anything from them, but i think it's better to be safe than sorry.

[edit] a bit of googling says it should be a legite shop but still seems strange.
Juhgu

#3 • • Juhgu Virnistelijä
Passport? Sounds weird.

--
Mitään juuri kirjoittamaani ei ole sellaiseksi tarkoitettu.

Byproduct (live)

Opulent

#4 • • Opulent
some other djs have said that they've had to send id to thomann previously, so it could be a german thing. Also they only want id for first purchase as im a new customer. What is a bit silly is that i can order from them, and pay an extra 13s, if i pay by cod. I dont want to do that though because it makes more sense for me to pay from my english account, and take advantage of the stronger pound.
phear

#5 • • phear <X>
I've ordered some stuff from there a couple of (or is it many already?) years ago. They did ask me to fax a copy of my passport there. No probs, just sent it and then paid with my credit card on their site. Otherwise a good shop, but it took them two months to deliver that piece (a Red Darkstar if I remember correctly).

Their shop is right in the centre of Köln and I've been there twice. So it's a totally legit shop, just being cautious I guess.
Kalle

#6 • • Kalle Kiusankappale

Opulent, 31.1.2007 09:08: